Meal Planning and Pancakes

It finally happened, my love of food and my need for organization have finally come together. I’m not proclaiming to be the worlds most organized person, but I do have a knack for it. Living in a small home with no closets and little storage space has thought me a valuable lesson. Over the years I have organized most rooms in our home, including the kitchen.

I thought I had it all figured out until I stumbled upon a very interesting blog post on Pinterest (yes, again with the Pinterest!). This blogger explained in a very detailed way how she does grocery shopping ONCE a month! She has lots of great tips and tricks on how to save money but I found this particular idea very interesting. Here is a link to the post if you would like to read it http://www.blissfulanddomestic.com/2012/03/31-days-to-yumminess-grocery-shopping.html?m=1.

I always seem to be “picking up a few things” at the grocery store on my way home from work and like most people I also get a larger amount of groceries on the weekend. But we all know that we can never actually leave the grocery store with that ONE item we went there for. We always end up grabbing a few more things and this adds up to a bigger grocery bill at the end of the month. It also means that some food is wasted because it is not eaten or is forgotten.

To make a once a month grocery trip possible, this blogger has a very detailed meal plan worked out and from there makes a grocery list to make sure she gets everything she will need to make all the family meals for a month. She does suggest trying to work your way up to a monthly trip rather than trying it right from the get go. So my plan is to try and make TWO trips a month, and hopefully cut down our grocery bill significantly. I’ve downloaded an app on my iPhone and started the process of entering my recipes and working out a meal plan for my fiancΓ© and I. I will let you all know how it works out! Here is a link for the app I’m trying out http://www.mealboard.com/.

So today is a stormy grey Sunday, and that always calls for pancakes! I love the weekends for obvious reasons, one of them is that I can take the extra time in the morning to make a delicious breakfast πŸ™‚ I fondly remember eating my mom’s famous pancakes (covered with molasses) on Saturday mornings, and if we were lucky we could even watch cartoons at the same time.

Once you try this easy and healthy pancake recipe you will NEVER want to buy or make the yucky boxed kind ever again. Guaranteed!

Whole Wheat Pancakes

– 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
– 2 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 tbsp sugar
– 1 cup milk
– 1 egg
– 1/2 tbsp oil

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Whisk milk and egg together and add oil, pour into dry ingredients and mix well. The batter should bubble and thicken a little.

Melt butter in a pan over medium heat and spoon batter into the pan (I use a ladle). Once the batter bubbles around the edges it’s time to flip the pancake over. The pancakes will be golden brown and crispy around the edges with a fluffy centre πŸ™‚

This recipe makes 4 large pancakes or 6 smaller ones. I warm my oven to the lowest temperature (170 degrees) and keep the pancakes warm in there till they are all ready. You can also use a griddle if you want to prepare more than one at once.

You can add fruit or chocolate chips to the batter if you like. I like mine with maple syrup and some berries on top or with plain old molasses πŸ™‚ Whichever way you like your pancakes these are sure to be a hit!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Meal Planning and Pancakes

  1. Made these the other day for Hailey and I’s supper! Love that they aren’t too thick! And they were good with the all purpose flour I had! But I did add whole wheat flour to my grocery list.

  2. I’m glad they turned out well with the all purpose flour, I even made them with Chocolate Milk once because that’s all I had haha! I like these because the edges get crispy and the center is nice and fluffy with out getting too thick and chewy. Happy to hear Hailey liked them too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

