Smash Book and Shepherds Pie

I’m finally back with a new blog, I had to take a few days off to take care of my poor little Layla Bean (yes I’m one of those annoying dog people)! She broke a nail on one of her front paws last weekend, and I had to wait till Monday to bring her to the vet. They completely removed her nail and any available funds left in my bank account. But it was worth it, she seemed to feel a lot better then next day and they made her a neat little doggy cast/bandage thingy. After a few days on pain medication and a little limping she is now 100% better πŸ™‚

20130303-164550.jpg

I’m excited to share my next project with you guys! I’ve been reading up a lot on Smash Books lately (yes, on Pinterest) and they have really caught my attention. Smash Books are like scrapbooks but a lot less fancy, you basically just cut and stick whatever you want where you want. I had done some scrap booking in the past but I was never any good at it. I had a difficult time making things look pretty, uniform and put together. I like to colour outside of the lines and Smash Books are exactly that! The part I like the most is that you don’t have to limit yourself to photos, you can add ticket stubs, post cards, pamphlets, news paper clippings and the list goes on. I have a shoe box FULL of little mementos that I have been hanging on to for years, things I have gathered over time and can’t seem to part with. Now I finally have a place to put them on display so that I can look at them anytime, and they won’t be hidden away in a dusty old shoe box anymore.

I plan on getting started this week, I already picked up a few basics from Michael’s (craft supply store). I went on their website and was able to print a 50% off coupon so my Smash Book only cost 10.00$! Other smaller items that you can buy to add on to your book range from 3.00$ – 10.00$, but you really don’t need much to get started, just a few souvenirs and some imagination. Here’s a link to a blog that I found very helpful and I will surely draw some inspiration from http://www.craftsunleashed.com/index.php/paper-crafts/smash-books-the-un-scrapbook/. This person made a Smash Book about a vacation they took, but you can make one for a wedding, a baby book, one for your pets, the sky is the limit! I’ll post some updates and pictures once I get started πŸ™‚

20130303-172445.jpg

Here’s a quick update on my meal plan, the first week was a success! The initial few days of planning, shopping and prepping were well worth it. Everyday I follow the plan and its really nice to know what to make for supper ahead of time. In the morning or the night before I take out whatever I need from the freezer and its so easy to make tasty and healthy meals when I have all the ingredients on hand. This last week also made me realize that the plan can be flexible. We had leftovers a few times and I just skipped the meal that was planned for that night. We prefer eating what we already have instead of making something else and wasting food. I still need to work on my portion sizes, but the freezer is still really full and I only have a few items on my grocery list for next time. This weekend was spent at home (hiding from the snow and rain that won’t give us a break) and NOT at the grocery store πŸ˜‰

Tonight Shepherds Pie is on the menu, this is a recipe that I have been perfecting for a few years now. I have it worked out to the way that we like it, but it’s a versatile dish, you can add lots of different things to make your own version and here’s mine!

– 1 lbs extra lean ground beef
– 1 onion chopped
– 6 or 8 large potatoes peeled and mashed
– 1 large can corn or creamed corn
– 1 tsp garlic powder
– 1 tbsp butter
– 2 tbsp herb and garlic cream cheese
– 1/4 cup milk
– salt and pepper
– grated cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Peel and chop the potatoes, while they are boiling heat a frying pan over medium heat. Cook the onions for a few minutes and then add ground beef to the pan. Brown the ground beef and cook thoroughly, I like to add a little salt, pepper and garlic powder to the beef while its cooking. Once the beef and onions are cooked set aside and check on the potatoes, they are ready if a fork can cut through easily.
Drain and mash the potatoes, add butter and milk, mix well and then add herb and garlic cream cheese, make sure to mix well again. In a large casserole dish put beef and onions in the bottom, put corn on top of the beef in an even layer, then place an even layer of mashed potatoes on top. Sprinkle with grated cheddar cheese and bake for 30 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes and serve with your favourite veggies as a side. Voila!

Hope you enjoy this dish, it’s one of my favourites and is good comfort food on a cold winter day πŸ™‚ It also makes a lot so you can have some left overs for the next day! Here is the finished product:

20130303-190522.jpg

Leave a Reply

