Mother’s Day Chicken Kabobs

I hope all you lovely moms out there had a great mother’s day! If there is one person in my life that deserves a special day of pampering and recognition, it is most definitely my mom Rosie. Not only did she give me life and raise me, she taught me right from wrong, made sure I always had everything I could ever need, and showed me more love than is humanly possible. To say the least, I love my mom, I would not be where I am today if it was not for her and I am thankful everyday that I can call her ANYTIME. I am almost 30 years old, and I call my mom almost daily for advice of some kind or another, I see no shame in this. She is my best-friend and I love spending time with her and I do realize this might sound like something a 10 year old wrote in a Mother’s day card. But I’m old enough now to spoil her, and mature enough to realize that she has done so much for me, and will continue to do so even though I am a full grown adult.

I called Rosie last week and asked what she wanted to do for Mother’s Day, she didn’t have much planned so I asked her to come over for a nice home cooked meal. I insisted she not make or cook anything! Mom’s should NOT have to cook on mother’s day, even if you are a terrible cook, if you can manage grilled cheese and tomato soup, your mom will appreciate it. My fiance and I decided to make chicken and shrimp kabobs, potato salad, coleslaw, corn on the cob and of course Chocolate Cake (https://recipesontheriver.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/wedding-plans-and-chocolate-cake/). It was kind of a gloomy and rainy day, but we decided to BBQ anyways, and everything was delicious, I think the meal was a hit with the entire family. The crowning achievement, in my opinion, were the chicken kabobs, they were moist, tender and packed full of flavor. And now that the nice weather is here to stay I feel like sharing some BBQ recipes, so here is the first one:

Honey Chicken Kabobs

– 2-3 boneless and skinless chicken breasts
– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 1/3 cup honey
– 1/3 cup soya sauce
– 2-3 garlic cloves (finely chopped)
– 1/4 tsp black ground pepper
– 1 bell pepper
– 1 medium white or red onion
– 1 lbs mini potatoes

Cut up chicken breasts into bite size pieces, this will help them cook faster on the bbq. In a large bowl mix together olive oil, honey, soya sauce, garlic and pepper. Once the marinade is ready throw in the chicken, cover the bowl and let it sit in the fridge for 1-2 hours, the longer you let it marinade the better! While the chicken is marinating, cut up the pepper and onion into bite size pieces and set aside. Next boil those mini potatoes, only cook them for a few minutes till they are slightly soft, they are a ready when you can poke a fork into them. Some mini potatoes aren’t really “mini” so feel free to cut them up into smaller pieces. I like to pre-cook my potatoes before putting them on the kabobs because they take much longer to cook then rest of the ingredients.

Once the chicken has marinated for long enough, you are ready to make kabobs! I use metal skewers, if you are using wooden or bamboo ones make sure to soak them in some warm water before throwing them on the BBQ, this will keep them from burning. I always start with a piece of chicken first and end with a piece of chicken last, what ever combination you want to put in between is up to you. You can also add things like mushrooms, sliced zucchini or even pineapple, go nuts! Once the kabobs are ready cook them on a low heat on the grill for 20-30 minutes, they are ready when the chicken is cooked through and the veggies are still a little crisp (no one likes soggy veggies). You can turn them over a few times to get some nice grill marks going, but I always leave that part up to my fiance/grill master.

And there you have it, easy and delicious chicken kabobs, if you’re like me and always make waayyyyy too much food, you can also throw your uncooked marinated chicken into a glass baking dish and cook it, covered, in the oven for 30 minutes at 420 degrees. The chicken will still come out nice and moist and goes great with some steamed rice and veggies, this is a good plan B for when the weather is cold or does not cooperate.

044

Here is a picture of the sunset on a rainy mother’s day, did I mention I love living on the river?

009

And this is a picture of one of my fur babies. I may not be a mom per say, but these wiggle butt fur balls take up quite a large place in my heart. Yes, I am one of those crazy dog people, I can’t help that they are way better than most humans.

Leave a Reply

