Photos of the best day of my life

As you all know, we finally tied the knot on August 24th, 2013! As promised in my previous post (https://recipesontheriver.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/how-we-planned-a-wedding-for-under-6500/) here are just a few of the many awesome photos that were taken by my friend and talented photographer Tia. Please check out her website to see more of her work (http://www.tiafennelly.ca/#/home?i=389).

I was so excited when Tia emailed me the pictures the other day, I was actually in France for our honeymoon when I received the news! I couldn’t wait to get home to see them, so we looked at them on my husband’s laptop. Going through all the photos was so much fun, it felt like we were there again, reliving our big day. It went by so fast, just like so many people said it would, and that is the reason that pictures are so important to me. Photos are a way to be transported back to another time and another place, even if it was a long time ago and the memories are vague. When you see a photo the feelings come right back to the surface, just like when you hear a special song or smell a familiar scent.

Tia did an amazing job capturing our special day, she really focused on us and who we are. None of the photos feel stuffy or posed and she really encouraged us to have fun, try different things and most of all, be ourselves. I think this is a sign of a true and very talented photographer, one who can sit back and let the subject tell the story. Not only is she extremely organized and efficient (which is VERY important for a wedding photographer) she really has an artistic eye and it shows in all her work. I hope you enjoy these, I’m so excited to share them with the rest of the world, and please don’t forget to visit Tia’s website. As you can tell I’m a huge fan of her work please show her some love!

My wedding bouquet included pieces from the veil my mother wore for her wedding over 40 years ago

My wedding bouquet included pieces from the veil my mother wore for her wedding over 40 years ago

I'm glad we have a picture of the rings because my husband lost his while we were on our honeymoon in France...

I’m glad we have a picture of the rings because my husband lost his while we were on our honeymoon in France…

The final touches

The final touches

Love the angle of this shot

Love the angle of this shot

Jumping on the bed because we can

Jumping on the bed because we can

We decided to do a "first look" instead of the tradition where the groom doesn't see the bride before the ceremony. These next few pictures really capture the moment, when I look at these all those wonderful feelings come flooding back.

We decided to do a “first look” instead of the tradition where the groom doesn’t see the bride before the ceremony. These next few pictures really capture the moment, when I look at these all those wonderful feelings come flooding back.

Jesse + Janelle-352

Jesse + Janelle-355

Jesse + Janelle-365

Me and my awesome girls

Me and my awesome girls

Our lovely bouquets made with fresh flowers

Our lovely bouquets made with fresh flowers

The boys

The boys

My husband is always making me and other people laugh, its one of the things I love the most about him

My husband is always making me and other people laugh, its one of the things I love the most about him

Sunglasses for everyone!

Sunglasses for everyone!

Can't be serious all of the time...

Can’t be serious all of the time…

Having fun with the Harley

Having fun with the Harley

Jesse + Janelle-679

Jesse + Janelle-727

Jesse + Janelle-803

A family picture with our dogs George and Layla

A family picture with our dogs George and Layla

Even Layla is smiling!

Even Layla is smiling!

It was a perfect day for a ride in the convertible

It was a perfect day for a ride in the convertible

Arriving in style

Arriving in style

Another lovely bride, who had just gotten married on the beach

Another lovely bride, who had just gotten married on the beach

Walking down the aisle with my wonderful parents

Walking down the aisle with my wonderful parents

Jesse + Janelle-984

The ceremony

The ceremony

The Kiss!

The Kiss!

All of our family and friends

All of our family and friends

Photos on the beach

Photos on the beach

1241738_10153166071070363_1002991678_n

1289940_10153166071060363_295254588_n

Jesse + Janelle-1200

1232695_10153166071100363_1440224324_n

Unexpected but welcomed visitor

Unexpected but welcomed visitor

This is Tia our lovely and talented photographer

This is Tia our lovely and talented photographer

Leave a Reply

